Jonathan Pitkin


Duration: 13 mins
Click here to see the SCORE.

The three movements of the Suite for Organ were written between Autumn 2002 and Spring 2003, and were premièred one by one by Clive Driskill-Smith over the course of 2003.
The Voluntary was written first, intended as a free-standing but open-ended movement. The Toccata was then added to make a complementary yet contrasting pair, before finally the Interlude was inserted between the two, giving the work more of a continuous overall shape.
All three pieces begin with the emergence and variation of an initial gesture and texture, before building through progressions of much slower-moving harmonic paragraphs towards endings which either retreat into ambiguity (Voluntary), spill over into the next movement (Interlude), or accelerate towards a sort of self-destruction (Toccata)!

Audio extract:

(Performer: Clive Driskill-Smith)